The first jeep and it's by Bantam!

The first jeep and it’s by Bantam!

The WW2 jeep is famous around my house.  My grandsons, Marcos and his brother, Carlos love to ride in the jeep.  Every time they see the 1942 Ford GPW they say, “Can we go for a ride, grandpa?”  Who am I to turn them down?  Mainly we stick to the yard.  The jeep goes around trees and up and down little hills.  Next we blaze a trail through the neighborhood on familiar streets.  Then it’s back to the yard and around the house a couple of more times before the jeep settles down and is put back in the garage.  The neighbors may think I’m nuts…but my grandsons think I’m the greatest!  What would you do?

You also might be interested in a book that I wrote about grandpa and WW2 jeeps, Grandpa’s War Pony is a book I wrote for my grandchildren to explain what a WW2 jeep was and how it was used.

Perhaps the greatest instrument of war to come out of the Second World War and forged into something still in use today is arguably—the 1/4-ton reconnaissance car or jeep. The jeep during WW2 was a new and speedy little vehicle designed to get in and go where motorcycles couldn’t go. It was the baby of a little company called American Bantam Car Company and the U. S. Army’s Infantry Branch.

The book is filled with colorized photos that have been stylized in a “cartoon” manner to help maintain children’s interest.

