Wanna know what to do with an axle washer? Well..listen up, I ain't going to repeat myself!

Wanna know what to do with an axle washer? Well..listen up, I ain’t going to repeat myself!

Wanna know what to do with an axle washer?

You should bend the washer to lock the nut in place.  I wouldn’t depend on goo to hold (though I did drive around for 20 years without bending or goo and never had a problem).  I now always bend the washer. But how?

The secret is from Al in New Zealand.  Pre-bend that sucker!  All you need is a little bit of a bend.  Then I use the standard Irwin screwdriver to bend into place.  Using the hub as a pivot (but I use the thick wall not the thin wall of the hub for the pivot…just in case).  After I started pre-bending, I didn’t have any problems setting and locking the nut.

So it really is easy to get those heavy washers to bend…you just have to know how!

